Ottawa Zone for Mathematics Education

May 29, 2023 AGM Minutes

A: In Person: Adult High School - Rm 259

Start time: 5:00 P.M.

(If you are unable to attend in person and wish to join online, please contact Karyn Hepburn for a **Zoom link**)

B: Attendees: Karyn Hepburn, Tony Alexander, Gregory Taylor, Jimmy Pai, Stephanie Bishop, Lee Bell, Melissa Black, Michael Lieff, Cathy Hall, Teresa Weselake, Marilu Deal, Anne Holness, Pushpa Gunawardena, Heather Lindale, Natalie Robinson.

C: Regrets: Fatima Assaf, Lara Eager, Chris Stewart.

D: Approval of Minutes: <u>30May22 Minutes</u>

• Moved: Stephanie B

Second: Pushpa G
 CARRIED

E: Current Items

Topic	(Speaker) Item - Details	Meeting Minutes
1. Welcome	(Karyn Hepburn) -Land Acknowledgement -Introducing 2022-23 Executive	-Acknowledgement done. From there, we will record the meeting (beginning with current exec).
2. Year-in- Review Reporting: President's Report	(Karyn Hepburn) -2022-23 Highlights -Looking Ahead to 2023-24	-Hard work coming out of Covid. Hybrid models. Committees still virtualWill look at more social media next yearFull report attached file, includes events and activitiesMelissa notes awards needs to be a collaborative effort; currently still waiting on nominations with deadline June 30th.
3. Year-in- Review Reporting: Treasurer's Report	(Natalie Robinson)	-Still collecting receipts with money coming in, won't be able to close off year as cheques were written (eg. for Peter L, for conference presenters) and are not cashed yet. So expect carry-over.



	ı	
		-We had incoming just under \$6000 (plus an email from Linda, MCIS will send something after they take their fee for Peter's Sat). Have spent almost \$14,000 which is good news to reduce our money in the bank before a GIC matures in August. -Have saved on some bank fees with writing cheques (banks like the paper trail for our community account). -Full report with breakdown will be attached.
4. 2022-23 Executive Elections (See Positions)	(Mike Lieff)	No positions were contested. Motion to accept Executive (see also below minutes): President – Karyn Hepburn (still 1 yr) VP – Teresa Weselake Secretary – Gregory Taylor Treasurer – Natalie Robinson Membership Chair – Tony Alexander OAME Chapter Rep – Stephanie Bishop Moved: Mike Lieff Seconded: Lee Bell CARRIED
5. 2022-23 Council Positions (See Positions)	(Mike Lieff)	Motion to accept Council (see below minutes)Note addition of Mohawk School Board (AMBE)We should reach out to more distant boards (eg. Renfrew) and advise them of our Hybrid Options. Moved: Mike Lieff Seconded: Teresa Weselake CARRIED

F: Action items

- Go through Council Email List and take off anyone no longer active? Karyn will look into this. (remove Suhana, Chelsea pending)
- Gregory Taylor to update the executive files to include AMBE.

G: Next Annual General Meeting

• May 27, 2024 (Tentative)

H: Adjournment: 5:40pm, recording stopped

Positions:

Positions on O₃4ME Executive:

- a) President: Karyn Hepburn (term continuing)
- b) Vice President: Teresa Weselake
- c) Secretary: Gregory Taylor
- d) Treasurer: Natalie Robinson
- e) Membership Coordinator: Tony Alexander
- f) OAME Chapter Rep: Stephanie Bishop
- g) Ex-Officio Members: Melissa Black (OAME VP), Jimmy Pai (OAME Director)

Council positions:

- a) OAME Director: Jimmy Pai
- b) Teacher Representatives

OCDSB:

Ottawa Catholic: Marilu Deal,

UCDSB Rep (Upper Canada): Michael Lieff

RCCDSB Rep (Renfrew Catholic):

RCDSB Rep (Renfrew):

CDSBEO (Eastern): Meghan Wood

CSDCEO (Catholique):

CEPEO:

CECCE (Catholiques):

AMBE: Gabrielle Stanton

- c) Post-Secondary (Algonquin College, U of Ottawa, Carleton U): Fatima Asaaf, Kelly Mckie(?)
- d) Independent Schools Rep:
- e) Coordinators/Consultants:

OCDSB: Stephanie Bishop

Ottawa Catholic School Board: Heather Lindale

- f) Ministry of Ed:
- g) Member at Large: Cathy Hall, Ann Holness, Pushpa Gunawardena, Christopher Stewart
- h) Industry: Lee Bell
- i) Communications:
- j) Social Chair: Lara Eager
- h) Outreach (e.g., school events):